Meet the team

Find out more about current NCETM team members with their areas of responsibility

Our new website was launched while social distancing was in place, which hindered our plans to get new photos taken. So you'll have to take it from us, for now, that there are more than two silhouettes represented across the team.

Senior Leadership Team

The NCETM’s Senior Leadership Team is formed by the directors of each strand area. They form the strategic leadership.
Image Description

Charlie Stripp

Director

Charlie has been the NCETM’s Director since 2013. He represents the NCETM nationally and internationally and often presents at conferences and events. He is also Chief Executive of MEI.


charlie.stripp@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Sue Madgwick

Deputy Director and Director for Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation

Sue joined the NCETM as Director for Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation, and became Deputy Director in 2019. She previously worked in maths teacher training and as an LA advisor.


sue.madgwick@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Debbie Morgan

Director for Primary Mathematics

Formerly a primary headteacher, LA advisor and university lecturer, Debbie has been the NCETM’s Director for Primary Mathematics since 2012.


debbie.morgan@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Carol Knights

Director for Secondary Mathematics

After teaching and leading maths at secondary school and university level, Carol began working for MEI, and later the NCETM. She leads on all the NCETM’s work for secondary schools.


carol.knights@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

John Westwell

Director for System Leadership

John has been a secondary school head of maths, and held advisor and policy positions in local and national organisations. He joined the NCETM in 2012, and has led the Maths Hubs Programme since its launch in 2014.


john.westwell@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Steve McCormack

Communications Director

A former journalist, Steve spent a few years as a secondary school maths teacher before joining the NCETM in 2013. He leads on all the NCETM’s external communications.


steve.mccormack@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Tina Cooke

PA to Leadership Team

Before joining the NCETM in 2007, Tina worked as an office manager. She now provides support in all areas to the leadership team.


tina.cooke@ncetm.org.uk

Primary Team

Image Description

Debbie Morgan

Director for Primary Mathematics

Formerly a primary headteacher, LA advisor and university lecturer, Debbie has been the NCETM’s Director for Primary Mathematics since 2012.


debbie.morgan@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Sue Evans

Assistant Director for Primary

A primary teacher and maths lead before joining the NCETM, Sue has expertise in Early Years and KS1, and now works on a range of the primary programmes.


sue.evans@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Liz Lambert

Assistant Director for Primary

A former primary headteacher and consultant, Liz now works on the NCETM’s Mastery Readiness and Mastery Specialists programmes, as well as developing professional development materials.


elizabeth.lambert@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Emma Patman

Assistant Director for Primary

Previously a primary teacher, maths lead and senior leader, Emma is now involved with several national projects including Mastery Readiness and Primary Mastery Specialists.


emma.patman@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Fiona Wood

Assistant Director for Primary

Fiona worked as an Early Years teacher and Mastery Specialist, and joined the NCETM in 2021. She is involved in the development of the Mastering Number Programme.


fiona.wood@ncetm.org.uk

Secondary Team

Image Description

Carol Knights

Director for Secondary

After teaching and leading maths at secondary school and university level, Carol began working for MEI, and later the NCETM. She leads on all the NCETM’s work for secondary schools.


carol.knights@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Howard Astley-Jones

Assistant Director for Secondary (Level 3 Maths and AMSP)

Howard was previously a Maths Hub Lead, and is now a link coordinator between the NCETM, Advanced Maths Support Programme (AMSP) and Maths Hubs, focusing on Level 3 maths.


howard.astley-jones@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Becky Donaldson

Assistant Director for Secondary

Previously a head of maths and a director of learning for a multi-academy trust, Becky works across various projects including Years 5-8 Continuity and professional development materials.


becky.donaldson@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Alex Jacques-Williams

Assistant Director for Secondary (Level 3 Maths and AMSP)

Alex was previously a Head of Maths in a Sixth Form college, and is now a link coordinator between the NCETM, Advanced Mathematics Support Programme (AMSP) and Maths Hubs, focusing on Level 3 maths.


alex.jacques-williams@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Mary Stevenson

Assistant Director for Secondary

Mary previously taught and led maths at secondary and university level, including PGCE programmes. She works across a range of projects including the Secondary Mastery Specialists Programme, and with initial teacher education (ITE) providers.


mary.stevenson@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Nicola Trubridge

Assistant Director for Secondary

Nicola has over 20 years’ experience in secondary maths, having worked in school, local authority and university settings. She leads on the SKTM Secondary Non-specialist Teachers programme.


nicola.trubridge@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Richard Perring

Assistant Director for Secondary

As well as classroom experience, Richard has worked in ITE and written and produced a variety of resources. He now works across a range of secondary programmes.


richard.perring@ncetm.org.uk

System Leadership Team

Image Description

John Westwell

Director for System Leadership

John has been a secondary school head of maths, and held advisor and policy positions in local and national organisations. He joined the NCETM in 2012, and has led the Maths Hubs Programme since its launch in 2014.


john.westwell@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Chris Dale

Senior Regional Lead

Chris was previously a vice principal, and director at a Research School. He now works with key regional stakeholders of national government programmes to support maths school improvement in the East of England and North East London.


chris.dale@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Heidi Whitney

Senior Regional Lead

Following her role as a principal education advisor for a Local Authority, Heidi now works with key regional stakeholders of national government programmes to support maths school improvement in the South East of England and South London.


heidi.whitney@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Gaynor Bahan

Regional Lead

Gaynor was previously an assistant head in a secondary school, and a university lecturer. She now works with key regional stakeholders of national government programmes to support maths school improvement in Lancashire and West Yorkshire.


gaynor.bahan@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Annabelle Grose

Regional Lead

Formerly a primary headteacher, Annabelle now works with key regional stakeholders of national government programmes to support maths school improvement in the South West of England.


annabelle.grose@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Matt Lewis

Regional Lead

Matt has worked at secondary school and local authority level and now works with key regional stakeholders of national government programmes to support maths school improvement in North West London and South Central England.


matt.lewis@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Barbara Rodgers

Regional Lead

Previously a Maths Hub Lead and director of maths, Barbara now works with key regional stakeholders of national government programmes to support maths school improvement in the West Midlands.


barbara.rodgers@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Paul Treversh

Regional Lead

After working as a local authority adviser and consultant, Paul now works with key regional stakeholders of national government programmes to support maths school improvement in the North of England.


paul.treversh@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Margaret Young

Regional Lead

Having worked as a consultant in both England and Australia, Margaret now works with key regional stakeholders of national government programmes to support maths school improvement in the East Midlands and the Humber region.


margaret.young@ncetm.org.uk

Each Regional Lead acts as principal NCETM link to five Maths Hubs.

Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation Team

Image Description

Sue Madgwick

Deputy Director and Director for Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation

Sue joined the NCETM as Director for Professional Development Leadership and Evaluation, and became Deputy Director in 2019. She previously worked in maths teacher training and as an LA advisor.


sue.madgwick@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Viv Lloyd

Assistant Director (PD Leadership and Evaluation)

Viv’s background is in Early Years and primary, where she has worked as a deputy head, as well as leading PGCE programmes at university level. Her NCETM role focuses on EYFS and ITE projects.


viv.lloyd@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Jen Shearman

Principal Evaluator (Associate)

Jen works for the NCETM alongside her role working on the Maths PGCE at Canterbury Christ Church University. As Principal Evaluator, she coordinates the national evaluation of the Maths Hub projects.


jen.shearman@ncetm.org.uk

Communications Team

Image Description

Steve McCormack

Communications Director

A former journalist, Steve spent a few years as a secondary school maths teacher before joining the NCETM in 2013. He leads on all the NCETM’s external communications.


steve.mccormack@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Beth Goodliff

Communications Manager

Previously a secondary teacher of English and senior leader, Beth joined the NCETM in 2018. She leads on supporting the Maths Hubs with their marketing, communications and websites.


bethanie.goodliff@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Gwen Tresidder

Communications Manager

Previously a secondary maths teacher and university ITE tutor, Gwen joined the NCETM in 2016. She leads on supporting the Primary and Secondary teams with external communications.


gwen.tresidder@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Sam Radford

Digital and Technology Manager

With a background as an IT manager, Sam joined the NCETM in 2009. He leads on the implementation and use of technology to support the work of the NCETM and Maths Hubs.


sam.radford@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Andrew Young

Web Content Administrator

Andrew previously worked in investment banking customer service and digital mapping for a utility firm. He joined the NCETM at its inception in 2006, and develops social media and online content.


andrew.young@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Liam Benson

Design and Digital Marketing Officer

With a background in digital marketing and graphic design, Liam joined the NCETM in 2017, and leads on the creative visual branding for all online and print media.


liam.benson@ncetm.org.uk

Image Description

Donna Cole

Publishing Manager

With a background in educational and STEM publishing, Donna supports the Communications Team in all areas of editorial, publishing and creating resources.


donna.cole@ncetm.org.uk

Operations Team

Image Description

Kate Hunt

Project Manager

Prior to working for the NCETM, Kate built up her own business, and worked as a headteacher’s PA. She now oversees the NCETM’s projects and events.


kate.hunt@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Fiona Houchin

Events and Administration Team Leader

Fiona has worked as a project coordinator and training administrator in a range of sectors. She now manages the Operations Team and leads on developing and maintaining effective processes.


fiona.houchin@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Victoria Allen

Business Support Officer

An experienced business coordinator having had roles in investment and insurance firms, Victoria supports all the NCETM strands to provide programme-wide and financial administration.


victoria.allen@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Emma Gardner

Project Administrator

Emma joined the NCETM in December 2020, from a varied administration and operations background. She manages the administration of the PD Lead Programme and oversees the Maths Hubs calendar.


emma.gardner@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Jenny Murray

Business Support Officer

Jenny has worked in a variety of industries including charity, HR and financial services. She joined the NCETM in 2019 and provides administrative support including event management.


jenny.murray@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Amina Saleh

Project Coordinator

Amina has worked in a variety of roles in the charity sector. She joined the NCETM in 2021 and works across the organisation, helping to coordinate and deliver both primary and secondary projects.


amina.saleh@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Carys Williams

Project Administrator

With a background in Higher Education and student recruitment, Carys now provides support across the NCETM and Maths Hubs, including event support and data entry.


carys.williams@tribalgroup.com

Image Description

Rachel York

Senior Business Support Officer

Rachel has worked for Public Health and the National Childbirth Trust in senior administrative roles. Her role now involves coordinating financial administration of the Maths Hub Network Fund.


rachel.york@tribalgroup.com

Subscribe to our newsletter

Primary & Early Years Round-up
Secondary Round-up
National Newsletter

A collaborative national network developing and spreading excellent practice, for the benefit of all pupils and students.

Stay connected